Interview with Richard Crehan

BN17e7WCEAA8QAD

This week we had the opportunity to talk to Richard Crehan as he took some time out from his busy schedule to answer a few of our questions.

Richard is an up and coming talented actor with credits that include Emmedale, Skins, The Knife That Killed Me and The Monuments Men.  Richard is set to Play one of the three leads in our feature film Broken Boys.

1. How did you first get into acting; did you always want to be an actor?

No, I didn’t always want to be an Actor, I wanted to follow in my brothers footsteps and go into the Army, he’s 9 years older than me so I always looked up to him, and wanted to do what he did. It was at secondary school, Yr11, I was advised by my drama teacher to go to the local college and study performing arts, I did, whilst working for a plumbing firm at the same time to earn my crust, it was at that college that I realised I wanted to take it further, but I guess it wasn’t until I trained at drama school that I actually really knew this is what I wanted to do, and what sort of actor I wanted to be.

2. As a young actor what are your aspirations for the future?

I aspire to be the best I can be within this business we call show. The dream of course is to work with the best, explore characters and text’s that are challenging and rewarding, this I assume is the same for most actors. if I am to think realistically, I aspire to be employed, constantly, to be able to earn a living from doing what I have trained to do and what I love, to act, day in day out, that’s what I aspire to achieve in the future.

3. What was it like when you stepped on set for the first time?

My first job was in TV while I was still at drama school, I played a small role in Emmerdale, 1 scene, and a handful of lines, and I have to say, as much as I loved it, I was terrified, my scene was with 2 of the long running regulars, people I have seen on the telly for years, and now I was sat with them running lines, strange, BUT I made the absolute most of it, loved it, and by the end of the day I was absolutely sure that was an environment I wanted to be apart of.

4. How was it working on a film directed by George Clooney?

Well similar to the last question in the sense of, it was George Clooney, a man we have seen plasted all over the hollywood movie scene for years, so I was very in awe of him, BUT I had done a few jobs by this time now, so I was a lot less like a rabbit in headlights and more ready and switched on to work. It was all very quick, I was called by my agent early in the day when I was at a recall in Liverpool for a TV job, and she said the casting director had been in touch and its between me and another guy for the job, then an hour later she phones with the offer, 8 hours later I was on a plane to Berlin, and within  24 hours of the call I was at studio Babelsberg getting a costume fitted. It was insane. Mr Clooney was great, aswell as directing, he was the leading man, and we exchanged dialogue in a small scene together, he was a very warm and friendly bloke, he just chatted to me all day about my past and what I have been up too, a very normal conversation in a very abnormal (for me) environment. To top it off my trailer was next to his, and that I will never forget haha. It was great to see how they do it over there, they are the masters of big budget films like that and they don’t half do it well.

5. What was it like making the move from TV to films?

Well actually, other than Emmerdale, my first proper job was film, and that’s what I have done more of than anything, I have done a few telly jobs now, but primarily, the first few jobs I got were film.

6. How do you measure your success?

My success is minor, but on the up, I graduated 18 months ago and have been VERY lucky to have done the jobs I have done, but I also have to take some of the recognition for that myself, I have worked my arse off to be where I am and I am far from ‘there’ yet, so my success is hopefully on the up and that’s how I will measure it for now.

7. How did you hear about your latest project, Trebuchet’s film Broken Boys?

I worked with Reece Douglas a few years ago and we were all at a private screening of our film and he mentioned he was going to work on a feature with producer Sean Langton along with Danny Miller. I messaged Sean to introduce myself as I know he has a few projects on the up and he himself is also going the same way, we got chatting and talked about Broken Boys, our views are very much the same, and after numerous phone conversations, and him watching my work, he offered one of the leads, I really want to work for him, his vision is second to non, so I signed.

8.What excites you most about the film?

Other than working with Sean and the great leads attached, the script. The questions it posses and where it puts the characters, it’s going to be a tough one, both to bring to life, and I think for the audience to watch.  This is the sort of thing I like to do, its why I became an actor.

9. How do you get into character for your roles; particularly this one?

Well I haven’t started to work on him yet, as we are not 100% set in stone as to when we start so I don’t want to over prepare, I still want it to be instinctive and real. But usually I guess I just create that back story, where he has come from, why etc, and build it from there, its different everytime of course it is, and im still learning as an actor and always will be, so the methods of creating a character will change and grow as I do.

10. It’s a new type of role for you. Do you think your fans will be shocked?

Its a new role for sure, BUT I often play naughty lads, people that are not often liked as much by the audience, and its the same this time. But I also think the public will enjoy it, its what I do well, and seems to have worked for me so far. I have a lot more i’m bringing to the table to, so we shall see.

 11. What would you say to any young actors that wanted to follow in your footsteps and become successful?

I’d say, stick with it, work hard and the results will show, don’t be knocked by rejection, its not personal but is common. Get out there and show your face, no one is gong to knock on your front door, so do the knocking.

Thank you very much Richard for your time and kind words.  I’m sure we all look forward to watching you on the big screen.

This entry was posted in December 2013 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment