Interview with BAFTA award winning actor Bobby Lockwood

Bobby Lockwood after winning his BAFTA for Best Performer this year.

Bobby Lockwood after winning his BAFTA for Best Performer this year.

Bobby Lockwood the star of CBBC’s award winning children’s drama Wolfblood has taken sometime out on the run up to christmas to answer a few questions for us.  Bobby has already had a long acting career and been lucky enough to do projects from Disney to mainstream UK TV.

Bobby has agreed too play one of the three lead males in our next feature Broken Boys and we are very happy to have someone of his talent onboard.

1. How did you first start in acting; did you always want to be an actor?

I danced from 3 years old at a local dance school and there I started acting, I got an agent at 5 and my first job at 6. I wanted to be a forensic scientist up until I was about 14. It was a mixture of picking my options and seeing Billy Elliot on stage which made me realise I loved acting and wanted to do it for the rest of my life! Ironically I didn’t enjoy drama at school or college because I think the syllabus is wrong, it’s based too much on coursework and written work and shouldn’t be graded the same way as maths or science. How this hasn’t been addressed in schools yet, I have no idea.

2. As a young actor what are your aspirations for the future?

I like to not think too far into the future as in this industry, and life, you never know what’s gonna happen! I will be James Bond one day though…

3. Wolfblood has been a huge success for you, how have you found the popularity?

It seems like it is a children’s show that can be enjoyed by adults too and I don’t think many shows fit into that niche so that’s great. We have an amazing time filming so the fact it’s doing well makes it even better! I don’t really think about my own ‘popularity’ though, it’s always nice to meet a fan but I’m not fond of the whole ‘fame’ thing. I would much rather go about anonymously acting strange with my family and mates.

4. Winning a BAFTA is a great achievement did you expect it

Not at all! Still hasn’t sunk in.

5. How have things changed for you since?

They haven’t really. It’s made me believe in myself and my ability though and really made me want to win more!

6. How did you hear about your latest project, Trebuchet’s film Broken Boys?

I did Ups & Downs last year and Sean was the Producer on that, he told me about Broken Boys, I loved the idea and I couldn’t really think of a film like it.

7. What excites you most about the film?

A few things, on a personal level I can’t wait to get on set and try something totally new and gritty. Then there is the hope that it could help people, whether someone is gay or whatever, prejudices are wrong and I am just hoping it might open people’s eyes a little bit, especially as I’m straight.

8. How do you get into character for your roles; particularly this one?

I have thought quite a lot about it to be honest, I just think of people in real life who I think resemble the character and try to take on certain characteristics or traits.

9. It’s a new type of role for you. Do you think your fans will be shocked?

Erm, maybe? It’s something different I guess, I just hope people like it. I still find the concept of having genuine fans really strange, obviously I’m very very grateful but I hardly get recognised in real life, just see a lot of things on twitter and Instagram and stuff so it just doesn’t seem real most of the time.

10. What would you say to any young actors that wanted to follow in your footsteps and become successful?

The industry is not as glamorous as you think it is. I won a BAFTA two weeks ago but I’m also broke and bored with not working! You’ll face a lot of rejection but if you really really love performing then take it on the chin, leave your ego at the door and try to have as much fun as you can along the way.

This entry was posted in December 2013 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment